Coleman Hawkins - The Hawk Flies High - 180g Limited LP Vinyl - MOFI

Pin It

Thirty years after the venerable tenor saxophonist rose to stardom in Fletcher Henderson's big band, Coleman Hawkins revitalized his career with The Hawk Flies High. This Riverside date from March 1957 reasserted Coleman Hawkins' stature as a true and enduring jazz icon. Personally selecting his own ensemble inclusive of trombonist J.J. Johnson, trumpeter Idrees Sulieman, pianist Hank Jones, guitarist Barry Galbraith, bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Jo Jones. The group swings and bops their way through six great tunes, including the lengthy 'Juicy Fruit,' Gigi Gryce's 'Blue Lights' and Hawkins' own soul-stirring original entitled 'Sancticity.' Another limited edition vinyl release of a jazz staple restored and brought to full sonic fruition via Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab's proprietary G.A.I.N. 2 Ultra Analog mastering process.
Limited Edition 180 gram Vinyl MFSL
Limited To 2000 Pieces

Rare & Collectable items are non-returnable/refundable

1. Chant       
2. Juicy Fruit       
3. Think Deep       
4. Laura       
5. Blue Lights       
6. Sancticity

Related Items